Spontaneous Collaboration, Marriage and Exclusive Rights

I finally finished the Medusa & Trinacria art mobile! I am going to start working on some larger mobiles– painting shapes of canvas together with wooden dowels, beads and yarn.

The last few weeks I have been making little promotional things to give away as business cards. I was also reminded of Joseph Campbell last week at work; thanks to Becky and Willshaw, and of themes I enjoy working with to create narrative work. Spontaneous collaboration happens.

My Coursera MOOC on Learning How to Learn (https://www.coursera.org/learn/learning-how-to-learn) is very interesting and I finished it yesterday. I was reminded that one needs to focus on the process instead of the product, especially when dealing with procrastination. Here’s a quote from the course: ‘By focusing on process rather than product, you allow yourself to back away from judging yourself (Am I getting closer to finishing?) and allow yourself to relax into the flow of the work.’

In art world news, Anish Kapoor has been given the exclusive rights to use the colour called Vantablack, which is a pigment so dark that it absorbs 99.96 percent of the light that hits it. Why get the exclusive rights? –because he can–he’s that powerful! I guess I will have to keep using my Galeria black gesso primer for my darkest dark.

Artist Tracey Emin married a rock!  German pop star Ramma Damma once married a pineapple, so it’s been done, but at least the rock will last longer. Congrats to Tracey E! Solid as a rock and well played.

Happy Easter to those celebrating the holiday today!

IMG_8551IMG_8532IMG_8533IMG_8526IMG_8546IMG_8541IMG_8513

Leave a Reply

