Human Artist: Identity, Memory, Location

I am in the process of creating a large-ish hanging mobile. It centers around the theme of memory, identity and location. I’m using some google map screen shots for references along with some photos I took.  I google mapped places I lived throughout Florida. This could be infringing copyright law with google as they own the images, but I am painting them from scratch, using them only as references. Seeing as how I doubt I will profit on this and I’ll be changing them enough, I feel like this is fair use. Also, I am virtually invisible in the art world– so really, who cares- why do I even bother worrying about this shit? Please sue me Google, for I could use some publicity!

The mobile will include painted mandalas (which is just any design or imagery within a circle). I glued some unstretched canvas together- the circles are the size of a plate and bowl. I will paint different scenes on the front and back, no doubt adding symbols and characters, beads and sparkly things along the way.

IMG_9403IMG_9404IMG_9407

Today, it’s bittersweet to look at the photos from 2009-2010, remembering that huge time of transition- leaving my house, studio, pets– yeah ex-husband too– but I was ready for that one (we are both remarried now to other people, happy and friends). Leaving the house, the nature, the pets and my stuff was harder. I took risks and sacrificed- starting a new relationship and forging a new life. It was worth it, but the older I get the less dramatic/traumatic I would wish life to be.

Someday I will go back to Florida for a visit and get some closure. Visit family- my ex is still storing a bunch of my stuff and he would probably appreciate me sorting it out- what the heat and humidty hasn’t rotted. The cat I left there died last year. The dog’s still there, but she was a new addition and I hadn’t spent that much time with her like the cat, still for 6 months we were companions.

Here are some photos from my last time living in Florida- 2010.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

Leave a Reply

